Family, Observations

Who would you be?

Picture credit http://www.disneyclips.com
Picture credit http://www.disneyclips.com

A question in a random Facebook post yesterday said “If Mummy was a character, who would she be?”  Well, curiosity got the best of me, and I asked 6 year old T. The wife from “The Enormous Turnip” was the answer.  Not overly keen on that one: if my memory serves me correctly, in our version, she’s an old, frumpy kind of woman with grey hair and a bun.  Not really the way I see myself, but obviously T has a different view to me.  So, MVNTH decided to have a go at answering the questions.  Cue the same question. The answer this time: the teapot lady from Disney’s Beauty and the Beast (I know it’s a film, but the question did just say “character”).  Not much better than the last answer.  I’m hoping this is because of my kind, caring, nurturing nature, not because I’m short and stout.  Don’t answer that one.

So, I thought I’d have a go myself.  The only problem being that, despite the fact that I’ve read hundreds,  maybe even thousands of books in my time, my mind went completely blank of a single character, never mind one who I might be like!  So anyway, after some extensive browsing of book shelves and googling of lists of characters, I’ve decided that I don’t fit the description of a single one.  I’m a mish-mash,  a personal anthology.  A bit of this one, a bit of that one.   But this is who I think I am.

Matilda Wormwood from “Matilda”, Roald Dahl

Always seen with my head in a book as a child, with a strong sense of right and wrong.  I like everyone to get along, but I like to see the bad guys get their just desserts too. Sadly, I don’t possess the power to rearrange my classroom with my mind though.

Mary Poppins from “Mary Poppins”, PL Travers

As I mentioned in an earlier blog, I like to think I have a bit of Mary Poppins’s positivity (although I have to confess, this view comes from the film rather than the book.  Sorry!).  I like to find the element of fun in everything I do, and yes, she’s right, once you do that, the job’s a game!  She knew what she was talking about, did Mary.  More of us should follow her lead: sing at ourselves in the mirror, make up stupid words and laugh.  I love to laugh.  Loud and long and clear (come on, admit it, who’s singing now?).  Sadly, again, no magical powers to help with the tidying up.

Hermia from “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”, William Shakespeare

This one’s a bit dodgy.  I’m not entirely sure I am like Hermia, after all, she was moody, feisty (maybe I am a little bit!), possessive and more than a little crazy.  But Helena says: “Though she be but little, she is fierce”.  That’s the bit I like about her!

Hermione Grainger from the Harry Potter series, JK Rowling

This young lady is the one I can relate to the most.  A complete teachers’ pet boffin at school. Yes, that was me.  More than a bit smug about her brains.  Yep, sadly.  Children would often ask me how to spell words, knowing I was great at spelling.  I would always reply “d-i-c-t-i-o-n-a-r-y.”  Geek.  But, despite her nerdy ways, Hermione’s brains have served her well, she turned out alright in the end and would do absolutely anything for her friends.  I can live with that comparison.

But finally,

Bridget Jones from “Bridget Jones”, by Helen Fielding

Come on, name me a woman who hasn’t belted out a tune at the top of her voice when she’s feeling rubbish.  Drowned her sorrows with wine and chocolate.  And gone so fast on an exercise bike that she’s fallen over when she got off.  We’ve all done it.

So, that’s me.  A cop out, I know, but I couldn’t pick just one.

Who would you be?

 

 

Leave a Reply

