Observations

What a difference a day makes…

Created using Typorama
Created using Typorama

Last night, I was pulling my hair out. I was despairing of all that I needed to teach my children before I could actually begin teaching them. After writing my blog, I felt a little better: I had got it all out of my system and went into class in a different frame of mind today. Still with high expectations, but with more realistic ones. With an expectation that I would have to take them through everything step by step. With an expectation that there were going to be seemingly obvious questions which I would wrongly assume they knew the answers to. And with an expectation that I would probably have planned too much and not get anywhere near as much done as I had hoped.

Well, I was pleasantly surprised. Maybe it was my changed attitude, maybe it was their attitude changing. Or perhaps it was just the fact that we all knew each other a tiny bit better than we did yesterday. Whatever it was, it worked. Small steps, but it’s working. More independence, more logic (from some!), no moaning, lots of praise cards and stickers and merits. 24 hours on and I feel a different person than I did yesterday. I may be enjoying a glass of wine tonight, but it’s a celebration rather than a consolation.

We’ve still got a way to go, but I can definitely see us having a lot of fun together this year. My teaching week may be over, but bring on the next one!

One thought on “What a difference a day makes…

Leave a Reply

